City of Gilroy Home
   SEARCH   |   CONTACT US   |   SITE MAP
City of Gilroy

South County Regional WasteWater Authority


What is the South County Regional WasteWater Authority (SCRWA)?
SCRWA is a joint powers authority established to manage the treatment of wastewater for the Cities of Gilroy and Morgan Hill. In partnership with the Santa Clara Valley Water District, the SCRWA also operates a recycled water facility co-located at the treatment plant site. The SCRWA plant was built in 1990 and is a model of energy efficiency and cost effective operation. The plant uses state-of-the-art, fully automated, high-efficiency equipment to save costs and resources. The SCRWA reliably meets the steadily increasing demand for recycled water to irrigate local parks, golf courses, sports complex, landscape medians, agricultural and industrial uses. The plant’s remaining effluent is disposed of in percolation ponds. The ponds allow the water to soak into the soil and eventually add water to the underground aquifer. This is different from many other treatment plants in the Bay Area that discharge effluent directly to the Bay. Discharge to ponds requires a more stringent level of treatment than is required for Bay discharge. The SCRWA produces a superior grade of effluent that consistently meets all State and Federal regulatory requirements. The SCRWA plant has been the recipient of numerous awards in California for excellent facilities and operations.

What Is An Industrial User?
An industrial user is any non-residential discharger. An industrial user may not have any industrial wastewater, and may only have regular (domestic) sewage. However the pretreatment program applies to all non-residential dischargers because they have the potential to discharge other wastes to the system.

What Is An Industrial Waste?
Any non-domestic liquid or solid waste from any producing, manufacturing, processing or operation of a commercial, industrial, or institutional establishment of whatever nature. Industrial waste is distinct from sanitary or domestic waste.




Who Governs SCRWA?

SCRWA is governed by a five member Board of Directors representing the cities of Gilroy and Morgan Hill.

2013 Board of Directors

Chairman: Gordon Siebert City: Morgan Hill Email: gordon.siebert@gmail.com
Vice Chairman: Dion Bracco City: Gilroy Email: dion.bracco@ci.gilroy.ca.us
Board Member: Larry Carr City: Morgan Hill Email: larry.carr@charter.net
Board Member: Don Gage City: Gilroy Email: don.gage@ci.gilroy.ca.us
Board Member: Terri Aulman City: Gilroy Email: terri.aulman@ci.gilroy.ca.us

When does the Board of Directors meet?
The SCRWA Board of Directors meets the first Wednesday of each month at 8:00 A.M. at 1500 Southside Drive;Gilroy, CA. If a holiday should fall on the regular meeting date, the meeting will be rescheduled to the following Wednesday.

SCRWA is operated by CH2M HILL OMI.
SCRWA Manager: Tom Haglund Email: tom.haglund@ci.gilroy.ca.us
Project Manager: Thom Vinson Email: thom.vinson@ch2m.com
Environmental Engineer: Saeid Vaziry Email: saeid.vaziry@ci.gilroy.ca.us
Secretary: Gina Bonnell Email: gina.bonnell@ch2m.com

SCRWA Office Information:
Address
1500 Southside Drive
Gilroy, CA 95020
Phone: 408.848.0480
Email: scrwamail@ci.gilroy.ca.us

Normal Business Hours:
7:00AM - 5:00PM
Monday - Friday
Closed Holidays

Tours of the facility are available by appointment