South County Youth Task Force

In January 2012, the City of Gilroy, the City of Morgan Hill, Gilroy and Morgan Hill Unified School Districts and the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors met and created the South County Youth Task Force (SCYTF) to address the effects of violence and gangs on our youth and in our community. This collaboration is a cross-sector, multi-agency partnership that is implementing a multi-faceted, community-oriented approach to create culturally-responsive prevention and intervention practices. 

The City of Gilroy and the SCYTF are committed to creating safe and healthy opportunities for youth, free of gangs and crime, so they may become successful and productive. View the SCYTF commitment to being Champions for Empowering Our Youth.

For more information about SCYTF, including events for youth and information on how to get involved, please visit their website at

SCYTF Strategic Plan 2023-2026

The SCYTF Strategic Plan for 2023-2026, called Project II THRIVE , aims to achieve the multi-sector collaboration's Mission and Vision by responding to current and future challenges and opportunities. The plan was developed through a comprehensive engagement process with South County community and local stakeholders, using restorative listening circles. These circles gathered valuable insights and input from residents as young as 6 to elders in their 80's, conveying their needs, concerns, hopes, wishes and goals for their community, leading to the emergence of several consistent goals and objectives.  SCYTF Technical and Policy Teams will be embarking into a three-year journey to realize these strategic plan goals.



View the 2023-2026 Strategic Plan for SCYTF.

Youth Task Force Image

Community Assessment

The Community Assessment Report provides an assessment of data collected and of stakeholder input of current conditions regarding youth, juvenile delinquent behaviors and gang related issues in south Santa Clara County.


Funding is provided through the South County Youth Task Force (SCYTF): City of Gilroy, City of Morgan Hill, Gilroy Unified School District, Morgan Hill Unified School District, Santa Clara County Library District, Santa Clara County Juvenile Probation Department and the Santa Clara County’s Neighborhood Safety Unit.
View Funding and SCYTF Strategies and Programming description for further information.