- Business & Development Services
- Business Licenses
- Disability Access Requirements
Disability Access Requirements
Required by California State Law
This fee is shown as CA Senate Fee SB-1186 on your Business License Application form. The City is required to remit a
portion of the fee to the State of California and appreciates your cooperation in complying with the law.
Disability Access Requirements and Resources for Business License Applicants and Commercial Building Permits.
Notice available in Spanish, Tagalog, Korean, Vietnamese, Traditional Chinese, and Simplified Chinese at:
SB 1186 - Disability Access this bill imposes on January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2018, an additional state fee of $1.00 on any applicant for a local business license or equivalent instrument or permit, or renewal thereof, for purpose of increasing disability access and compliance with construction related accessibility requirements, and developing educational resources for businesses to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.
Assembly Bill 1379 was passed on October 11, 2017, which extends the assessment of the fee indefinitely and increases the State mandated fee from $1.00 to $4.00 from January 1, 2018, until December 31, 2023. The City is required by law to inform you of the following: Under Federal and State law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public.
Assembly Bill 3002 under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public.
You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
The Division of State Architect
The California Commission on Disability Access